Getting Stronger both ways (Almost 8th months into the Transformational Journey)


“You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.” ― Maya Angelou.

“We are stronger not only because we find our own strength, we are strong because we can find the weakness within ourselves and join with other fellow human beings so we can become stronger. The success of my transformation is not only a lonely ranger kind of thing, my success comes from the many communities I belong.”- Miguelito

“The starting of a new year or the continuum of the years we have been living” this was my thought last January 1st while reading the many good wishes and resolutions people post in their facebook wall. I am amazed of the mind games we play every December 31st making of this day a kind of a launching platform were good thoughts, wishes, blessings and resolutions are resurrected from the our forgotten box.

What is with January 1st that we think is the start of a new beginning?  Why do we have to believe it is a “borron y cuenta nueva” (erase everything and start all over again) I have learned in life that it is not the beginning of a new year but the continuum of the years I have been living. That is why I do not have resolutions or best wishes to give to people. My resolutions have already been created long time ago, and I keep moving towards make them a reality every day I live. My best wishes should be part of an ongoing thing happening every day.

For me, my new year did not started today; it has started in many times in different moments of the last 43 years of my life. One of the new starts that have happen recently is when I joined what some call my CULT, but for me this what it means: Community, Unity, Life- Transformed: Iron Tribe Fitness. The moment I took all the strength I needed to face my insecurities and sedentary life, and started a life-transforming journey. That was one of the biggest resolutions I did in the middle of last year. Seven months later, I have reached the 80lbs lost, and now I am wearing 36” waist pants. My closet is empty and I have given 4 full bags of clothing to charity.  But losing weigh is only the result of the many transformations happening in my life, losing weight is only the external face that people can see, but what is happening internally is the most important thing.  Yes I am getting stronger and thinner, but my confidence, love, perseverance and care for myself is growing. My heart is being swollen to share this lifestyle with others, to encourage my fellow organizer in the movement to include self-care in their daily routine.

This journey has given me the courage to start looking into my own past closets, and start dealing with them. We can be physically strong, but if we miss to be strong in our soul, mind and spirit we will be having an unbalance life. We can do all the blurpees, deadlifts, and cleans we can, but if we are not building up our inner self then the exterior is only a facade of what we would like to share to others, but in reality we will be weak in our heart.  The same way if we just take care of our inner self and we totally forget about our body, then I am sure there is some kind of unbalance in our life that is not allowing us to grow deeper in the love for our persona. With this I do not want to imply that only the skinny guys are healthy, this is what the media wants to show us. I believe that curves are beautiful as well, and the most important thing is for us to do the best to take care of our inner and outer selves.

“Human potential is the same for all. Your feeling, ‘I am if no value’ is wrong. Absolutely wrong. You are deceiving yourself. We all have the power of thought- so what are you lacking? If you have will power, then you can do anything. It is usually said that you are your own master” – The Dalai Lama.

Me then, me today (jan 2014)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

