Would you Join me?


“Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
the troublemakers. The round pegs
in the square holes- the ones who see
things differently.
They’re not fond of rules and ther
have no respect for the status quo.
You can praise them,
disagree with them,
quote them, glorify them or vilify them.
About the only thing that you can’t do
is to ignore them.
Because they change things”

–Jack Kerouac
quoted in an Apple computer Ad, 1997.

Where does it that you can not minister others while going through difficult times? Where does it say that you can not find wholeness when you walk against what the “religious people” think is not right? Where does it say that we can not learn from our Muslim, Hindu, Bhudist brothers and sisters? Where does it say that in order to change we need to keep doing what we have done for the last 2000 years?

According to the quote above the ones who bring change are those who are willing to move beyond the standars of our society, the ones who are not fearful to be talked about, to be rejected, to be stoned and even to die for their cause while trying to empower others.

How can we change, if in reality we are not willing to change?

Real change starts within myself, and change will come when I am able to say “yes” to who I am. Change will never happend if I try to become what others tell me, or what “old traditions” talk about it, or through the morals and beliefs of the close minded standars of “faith” people.

Change happens when I can see my self as a whole and loved person; as a wonderful creation with all my flaws, imperfections and weaknesses. Change happens when I can say “Yes” to a new life, to embrace the beauty of my humanity and accept God’s pure love for me just as I am. A friend just told me a couple weeks ago: “Faith is not about changing people; faith is to love them”.

So if we keep waiting for a change without the radicals, the controversials, the ones who see things differently, the Ghandis, the Marthin Luther Kings, the Mother Teresas–or even without the willingness to change ourselves–we will be stuck for another 2000 years still expecting to change without really changing at all.

I have decided to change, would you join me?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

