From Hossana to the Crucify him- (message posted March 16th 2008)


When they placed the palm branches on the floor as a sign of worship to the king arriving to Jerusalem, I wonder if they truly knew what kind of king was Jesus. I think they were venerating the one that would change their status quo in the world they were living. They wanted a person who will give them power, significance and authority over their Roman rulers. They were expecting a “macho man”. Oh my gosh!! They truly glorified Him…then what happened a couple days after? What took them from “hosanna” to “crucify him”? What happened in between that made them change their minds? How soon the worship turned to disappointment? When Jesus was questioned, he answered: “my Kingdom is not from this world”. WHAT?? I have been following him for all these years and now he is saying that he is not the king I was expecting. Men’s expectations differ so much of what God’s plans are. Men’s expectations are based in (most of the time) selfish desires. In the desires that will give us the results we want. I want a king who will destroy my enemies, I want a king who will give me riches, I want a king who will be spectacular, and I want a king who will position me in higher places. To this king it will be very easy to sing: “Hosanna in the highest”. But what about the one powerless in the cross? The one who was beaten and humiliated?
This week we are remembering His passion and sacrifice, this week we are remembering his service and humility, his ultimate love for us. It was not what we were expecting; because we never thought about it. God’s plans are not the same as men’s expectations; His thoughts are not my thoughts, neither are His ways my ways, as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are His ways higher than my ways and His thoughts than my thoughts.”(Isaiah 55:8-9). I pray that we may sing “Hosanna in the highest” while He is being hanged at the cross. That we may see the power, the richness and the significance of being bought by a higher price. It is through His blood that I can be who He wants me to be: Miguel, his beloved son.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

