From my wounds


No one ever promised that the fastest horse in the race was the easiest one to ride –Erick J. Joiner, Jr.

I chose to study Sociology because I like to know about people, but sometimes I wonder if studying that will help me to interact with them, because I am rough as the bark of a tree. Brennan Manning says in his book,  posers, fakers and wannabes: “We hide behind pretty faces which we put on for the benefit of our public. And in time we may even come to forget that we are hiding, and think that our assumed pretty face is what we really look like”. Personal relationships should be one of the classes offered in universities and seminaries because we live in a world of people.

Even though I don’t want to recognize it, I place expactations on others. I want pastors to behave in certain way, students to act in a different way, friends to treat me the way I want to be treated; but the reality is that expectations are always harmful, because and most of the time, are selfish desires for my own comfort. I get upset when someone has not fulfill my expectations.

But the reality is that I do not want to be known as the grates and most organized leader, or the one who knows how to respond correctly to every person. I do want to be known as someone who can connect people  so they can serve their community and someone who can be open to new ideas always knowing that I will serve out of my wounds, and not from my strengths.

Pretending we have no wounds is a self-absorbed lie
–B. Manning

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

