What is wrong with what I believe?


“When we have no project to finish, no friend to visit, no book to read, no television to watch or not record to play, and when we are left all alone by ourselves we are brought so close to the revelation of our basic human aloneness and are so afraid of experiencing an all pervasive sense of loneliness that we will do anything to get busy again and continue the game”
–Hernry Nuwen

I wake up with this question specially because I am in a stage of doubt about many things I have been believing for the last 18 years. Suddenly I realized that my faith has been based in what others have told me about how Christianity should be, but the more I read the Gospels and the more I know about Jesus’ culture, the more I realize that I may have many things wrong. For example the concept of early church and today’s church or even what was church for Jesus? Or what about Christianity, what is exactly to be a Christian? The apostles never called themselves Christians. What we have as sacraments of the church and many other traditions came originally from the Roman Catholic Church. I saw the news that some experts have come to the conclusion that Jesus was not born in December but in April (I have heard that for a long time), so why do we celebrate the birth of Jesus in December or why do we even celebrate the birth of Jesus, because the Bible doesn’t say anything  about how to celebrate this festivity. These are the many questions I have right now wondering in my mind and I know that when I give myself the opportunity to doubt and think I can be able to strengthen my faith.

“If you don’t change your beliefs, your life will be like this forever. Is that good news?”

—  Douglas Noel Adams
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

