Dust-Polvo


Yesterday I watched a movie called “Reservation Road” and it was about a man who on the way back from a baseball game with his son gets in an accident and leaves the scene. In this accident a 10 year old boy dies. The story is about the two dads, one dealing with the lost of his son and the other one with the guilt of what he has done. This reminded me the novel of Fyodor Dostoevsky “Crime and Punishment” where a man is punished by the guilt of killing some people and how his life is destroyed, until he can not handle it anymore and give himself to the authorities.
Most of the time I wish my life was different, if I would only lived another life everything will be alright. At the same time I know that all the bad and good moments have forged me to be the person who I am now. Sometimes I have to tell myself, “please, don’t you dare to quit!” because I wonder what my contribution to this world has been besides all my inner fights, struggles and searchers for a better path to walk. There are still some heavy weights in my soul that when I remember them they pull me down that I can even smell the dust. Thing I have done but never received forgiveness. At the end of the movie the dad that killed the boy–with a gun in his forehead– is in front of the one that lost his son screaming: “Please tell me to kill me!, please tell me to kill me! Forgive me!, Forgive me!”. Without the power of being forgiven we live a dying life, that is why we need the forgiveness we can have when we come to the Table of the Lord when we receive the Eucharistic: the remainder of the forgiveness of our mistakes and failures. This assurance of His forgiveness allows me to live without the forgiveness of others.

“Forgiveness is not an occasional act: it is an attitude.” –
Martin Luther King, Jr.

“El perdón no es un acto ocasional, es una actitud”.
— Martin Luther King, Jr.

Ayer vi una película que se llamaba “El Camino de la Reserva” (Traducido literalmente) y es acerca de un hombre que de regreso de un partido de baseball junto con su hijo tiene un accidente y huye del lugar. En ese accidente muere un niño de 10 años. La historia es trata de dos padres, uno que esta tratando de sobrellevar la muerte de su hijo y el otros que esta viviendo la culpa de lo que hizo. Esto me hizo recordar la novela de Fyodor Dostoevsky “Crimen y Castigo” donde un hombre es castigado a través de la culpa de haber asesinado a unas personas y como su vida se va destruyendo hasta que esa misma culpa lo lleva a entregarse a las autoridades.
Muchas veces desearía que mi vida hubiera sido diferente, si tan solo hubiera vivido otra vida todo sería diferente me es muy fácil decirme. Al mismo tiempo se que tanto los buenos como los malos momentos me han forjado para ser la persona que soy. Algunas veces me tengo que decir, “¡No se te ocurra darte por vencido!” porque a veces me pregunto cual ha sido mi contribución a este mundo aparte de mis muchos sentimientos, batallas y búsquedas por un mejor camino. Hay todavía algunos lastres tan pesados en mi alma que cuando los recuerdo me empujan hacia abajo casi hasta donde puedo oler la tierra. Cosas que he hecho y que nunca he recibido perdón.

Al final de la película el padre que mato al niño, con una pistola en la frente, le grita con desesperación al que perdió a su hijo: “¡Dime que me mate! ¡Dime que me mate! ¡Perdóname! ¡Perdóname!”. Sin el poder de ser perdonados vivimos una vida muerta, es por eso que necesitamos el perdón que se nos da en la Mesa del Señor cuando recibimos la Eucaristía que nos recuerda el perdón de nuestras fallas y errores. La seguridad de Su perdón me hace poder vivir aún cuando no haya recibido el perdón de los demás.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

