Complicated Memories- Recuerdos Complicados


One of the hardest things to do is to deal with our ugliness as human beings. When I talk about “ugliness” I refer to all the things we have done that have created an empty space filled with anger, resentment, sadness and frustration. Since the month of May I have been dealing with an intense anger towards myself for events that passed more than 20 years ago. It is amazing how our memory can retained moments that can truly disturb our walk in life. These memories suddenly appear back in my mind and accused me trying to take away whatever I have accomplished in life, stealing any sign of fulfillment, and punching me where it hurts the most. Memories that find–as an arrow– the perfect aim through the deepest of my heart. And these are not things people have done to me, but what i have done to people. That is why I constantly have to go to the cross and contemplate His immense love towards me so I can feel loved and accepted in the midst the ugliness of my soul. Brennan Manning says,When we are anxious we are inclined to over prepare. We wonder what to say when we are attacked, how to respond when we are being interrogated, and what defence to put up when we are accused. It is precisely this turmoil that makes us lose our self-confidence and creates in us a debilitating self-consciousness. For Jesus there is no happy ending in this world. The challenge of Jesus is not to solve all the world’s problems before the end of time but to remain faithful at any cost.”
In Christ’s Eucharistic, the cup represents the sign of a new covenant, the covenant of being covered by His mercy, grace, love, and forgiveness. I know I believe this, but why is so hard to practice it when I know the people I have hurt has not being able to forgive me?

Una de las cosas más difíciles por hacer es el lidiar con nuestra fealdad como seres humanos. Y cuando hablo de “fealdad” hablo de todas esas cosas que han creado un lugar vacio lleno de enojo, resentimiento, tristeza, y frustración. Desde el mes de mayo he estado lidiando con un enojo muy intenso hacia mi persona por eventos que pasaron hace casi más de 20 años. Es impresionante como nuestra memoria puede retener eventos que en verdad afectan nuestro caminar en la vida. Estos recuerdos aparecen sin avisarme y me acusan tratando de llevarse cualquier cosa que hay podido hacer en mi vida, robando cualquier señal de plenitud y pegándome un golpe en donde mas me duele. Memorias, que como flechas, encuentran el objetivo perfecto a lo profundo de mi corazón. Y estas no son cosas que las personas me han hecho; sino lo que yo he hecho a las personas. Es por eso que constantemente tengo que ir a la cruz y contemplar su inmenso amor para conmigo para que así pueda sentirme amado y aceptado en medio del la fealdad de mi alma. Brennan Manning dice, “Cuando estamos ansiosos tendemos a sobre prepararnos. Nos preguntamos que decir cuando nos atacan, que responder cuando somos interrogados, y que defensa poner cuando somos acusados. Es exactamente este embrollo que nos hace perder nuestra auto-confianza y crea en nosotros una muy débil auto-conciencia. Para Jesús no hay un final feliz en esta vida. El reto de Jesús no es resolver todos los problemas antes del final de los tiempos sino permanecer fiel no importando el precio”.
En la Eucaristía de Cristo, la copa representa el nuevo pacto; el pacto de ser cubierto por su misericordia, gracia, amor y perdón. Yo se que lo creo, pero ¿Porqué es tan difícil practicarlo cuando sabes que las personas que lastimaste no han podido perdonarte?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

