Words-Palabras


I was able to connect with my brother (the one the right) through this technology called facebook. He told me that we could never change what a look into the eyes does when we can connect face to face; but I also reminded him that sometimes we can look into the eyes of someone else and never see the heart; but through words we can connect and create a place of interaction. Facebook bring us a channel to communicate our lives through words, images, and daily thoughts. I know that we can not compare it to see the eyes of your brother or feel the strong power of the blood that join us, but at least we can be touched by our words when we are more than 3000 miles apart. My brother Eugenio is someone I admired even though he never realized that until a couple of years ago that I was able to share that with him. He left my parent’s house to study when I was only 8 years old. But one thing I can say about the Carpizo’s siblings is that words sometimes unite us. Each one of us, in our own ways, love to write and express ourselves with the words our parents who taught us through the love and joy of reading. Words have always been present in our family, sometimes those words have hurt, pretend, and even vanished. Some other times have created tears, resentment, laughs, and have brought us together. Today I feel that many of those words are gone, each one of us flying in our lives, writing our history. But in the distance there is a valley where may be we can placed our words and see if we can connect once again. Henry Nouwen said, “Often we remain silent when we need to speak. Without words, it is hard to love well. When we say to our parents, children, lovers, or friends: “I love you very much” or “I care for you” or “I think of you often” or “You are my greatest gift,” we choose to give life.

It is not always easy to express our love directly in words. But whenever we do, we discover we have offered a blessing that will be long remembered. When a son can say to his father, “Dad, I love you,” and when a mother can say to her daughter, “Child, I love you,” a whole new blessed place can be opened up, a space where it is good to dwell. Indeed, words have the power to create life.”

The words a shared with my brother through this new cyber space, for a moment, a very small and tiny moment, gave me life and joined my life with his.

Pude conectar con mi hermano a través de esta nueva tecnología llamada Facebook (él es el que esta a la derecha). Me dijo que no podemos cambiar lo que una mirada hace cuando conectamos cara a cara, pero yo le recordé que a veces aunque nos estemos mirando en realidad no estamos viendo nuestro corazón, pero que con palabras podemos crear un lugar para poder interactuar. Facebook nos da un medio para comunicar nuestras vidas a través de palabras, imágenes y en la vida cotidiana. Se que no se compara con la mirada de tu hermano o sentir el poder de la sangre que nos une, pero por lo menos podemos ser tocados por nuestras palabras aunque estemos a mas de 1900 kilómetros de distancia. Mi hermano Eugenio es alguien a quien siempre admire aunque él nunca se dio cuenta hasta hace unos años atrás cuando pude compartir mis palabras con él. Él salió de casa de mis padres para estudiar la carrera cuando apenas yo tenía ocho años. Pero una de las cosas que puedo decir acerca de los hermanos Carpizo es que a veces las palabras nos unen. Cada uno de nosotros, en nuestra manera, nos gusta escribir y expresarnos con las palabras que nuestros padres nos enseñaron a través del gusto a la lectura. Las palabras siempre han estado en nuestra familia, algunas de esas veces las palabras han lastimado, han pretendido y aun se han desaparecido. En otras ocasiones han creado lágrimas, resentimientos, risas y nos han unido. Hoy en día siento que muchas de esas palabras han desaparecido, cada uno de nosotros volando en su propio cielo, escribiendo nuestras historias. Pero en la distancia hay un valle en donde, pueda que sea posible, podamos depositar nuestra palabras y ver si ellas se vuelven a encontrar. Henry Nouwen dijo, “Muchas veces nos callamos cuando debemos hablar. Sin palabras es dificil amar bien. Cuando le decimos a nuestros padres, hijos, amantes o amigos:’te quiero mucho’ o ‘me importas mucho’ o ‘pienso en ti’, o aún ‘tú eres mi mayor regalo’ estamos escogiendo vida.

No es fácil expresar nuestro amor en palabras. Pero cuando lo hacemos descubrimos que hemos entregado una bendición que será siempre recordada. Cuando un hijo puede decirle a su padre, ‘papá te quiero’ o cuando una madre puede decirle a su hija: ‘pequeña te quiero’ un lugar de bendición es abierto, un lugar donde es bueno permanecer. En verdad las palabras tienen el poder de crear vida”.

Las palabras que compartí con mi hermano, por tan solo un momento, un muy pequeño momento, me dieron vida y  unió mi vida con la suya.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

