The Shadow of the Wind- La Sombra del Viento


Today I sat down to read a book a was recommended (The Shadow of the Wind), with a cup of fresh coffee and Turandot as a background my journey through the new pages started. I read the first page and I knew already I was going to like it. The next pages were a little bit harder, because every phrase became part of my soul, not just because I enjoyed it so much but because I became the main character in the book. Wherever the words were it was like my own words coming from my soul, “I was raised among books, making invisible friends in the pages that were dissolving in the dust and its color I still have on my hands” (The Shadow of the Wind). Then the pages became more intense until I could not hold it anymore, I closed it and start sobbing.

Let me tell you this is not a spiritual book like the ones I like to read from Nouwen and Mannning, this is an Spaniard Novel that suddenly became as spiritual as any other book I have read. It made me cry because it reminded me to my father whom I love dearly and owed him the love to music and good reading. I imagined him seating in the library of my house waving his hands through the air like a “maestro”(Orchestra Director) while telling me the beauty of feeling the spirit of the music we were listening. I was juts a little kid following with my eyes the figure of this man who was describing every note and voices. After a while, he will take a book and asked me listen. When I close my eyes and see my father, he is always reading and listening.

I also cried because of the emptiness I felt when I turned to an empty chair and there was nobody seating by me not being able to learn what I can teach him. I just realized that the joy of listening to music and reading will stop with me because I do not have someone whom I can share what my father taught me, unless I start doing something about it. The first thing that came to my mind was writing. Writing is becoming my son and daughter, a place where I can pour out my soul and share with them my thoughts, love, tears and life. Writing is more than words placed in this space of technology, it is my voice being shared, transformed and imprinted in the many pages of my own book: my life.

“Each book you have seen here has become someone’s best friend”(The Shadow of the Wind)

Hoy me senté para leer un libro que fue recomendado (La Sombra del Viento) con una taza de café y la Opera de Turandot en el fondo, mi caminar a través de las páginas empezó. Leí las primeras páginas y ya sabía que me gustaría, pero las siguientes fueron un poco más difíciles ya que cada palabra llego a ser parte de mi alma y no solo por que lo estaba disfrutando sino que por un momento me convertí en el personaje principal. Cualquier palabra era como si estuvieran saliendo de mi propia alma, “me crié entre libros, haciendo amigos invisibles en páginas que se deshacían en polvo y cuyo olor aún conservo en las manos” (La Sombra del Viento). Después las páginas se hicieron cada ves mas intensas hasta que ya no pude más y lo cerré mientras sollozaba como un niño.

Déjenme decirles que éste no es un libro espiritual como los que leo de Nouwen o Manning, es una novela Española que por un momento se convirtió tan espiritual como cualquier otro libro que haya leído. Me hizo llorar porque recordé a mi padre a quien amo tan intensamente y a quien le debo el amor a la música y a la buena lectura. Me lo imagine en la biblioteca de mi casa moviendo sus manos en el aire como un Maestro mientras me explicaba la belleza del saber escuchar el espíritu de la música. Yo solo era un niño pero con mis ojos seguía la figura de éste hombre que me describía cada nota y voz. Después de un tiempo él tomaba uno de los muchos libros y me decía que escuchara con atención las palabras. Cuando cierro mis ojos y recuerdo a “mi viejo”, siempre lo veo leyendo y escuchando.

También llore por el vacio que sentí cuando mi mirada se dirigió hacia una silla vacía y no había nadie junto a mí a quien yo pudiera enseñarle. Me di cuenta que el amor a la música y a la lectura terminaría en mi, ya que no tengo a nadie a quien poderle pasar lo que mi padre me enseño; a menos que haga algo al respecto. Lo primero que se me vino a la mente fue, escribir. El escribir se esta convirtiendo en mi hija o hijo, un lugar donde puedo derramar mi alma y compartir con ella–la escritura– mis pensamientos, amor, lagrimas y la vida misma. El escribir es más que simplemente palabras impresas en esta tecnología. Al contrario es mi voz compartida, transformada e impresa en las muchas paginas de un libro: mi vida.

Cada libro que ves aquí ha sido el mejor amigo de alguien
–La Sombra del Viento

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

