Darkness still in us-La Oscuridad en nosotros


How can we practice brokenness? As I have always said brokenness is the knowledge that I can not be who I want to be unless God helps me to be. But most of the time it is not something that we can just wake up and schedule it in our busy agendas. Brokenness usually comes when God through the life of others touches the inner wounds of our living heart. It is when someones has the braveness (or the innocence) to extend his/her hand and touch the hidden places of our wounded soul.. Brokenness hurts because we are suddenly faced with our pain and most of us don’t want to deal with it. I usually get upset as a way to defend from the pain, but when I go into solitude with God the teachings starts to pour down like rain showers. Today one of my hidden buttons was touched and brought into light. I would like to ignore it and pretend than nothing happened or may be even try to push away the person who was brave enough to touch it. (sadly, the second reaction I had done it many times).Yes! I am extremely friendly with people, Yes! I love to help others, Yes! I love to hear their stories, Yes! I like to talk to them and see if they can find their own spiritual journey, Yes! I will show you the real me…..well……just what I would like to show you, because there are still areas I will never talk. Some of this areas I have wanted to overcome but they are so hard to manage them, than simply are put away in the closet of unresolved issues. In this journey I call life, once in a while there are going to be people who will cross the big wall we have built for many years, that is when the light is reveled and the hidden is brought into the lightness of our existence. This is when I realized that there so much darkness still on me. There is an ancient tale I read in a book:

“The rabbi asked his students: How can we determine the hour of dawn, when the night ends and the day begins?
One of the rabbi’s students suggested: when from a distance you can distinguished between a dog and a sheep?
‘No,” was the answer of the rabbi.
It is when one can distinguish between a fig tree and grapevine? asked a second student.
‘No’ the rabbi said.
Pleas tell us the answer then, said the students.
‘it is then’ said the wise teacher, ‘when you can look into the face of another human being and you have enough light in you to recognize your brother or your sister. Until then it is night, and darkness is still with us”

¿Cómo podemos practicar el quebranto? Como siempre lo he mencionado, el estar en quebranto es el conocimiento de saber que no puedo ser quien quiero ser a menos que Dios me ayude a ser. Pero muchas veces no es algo en lo cual podamos despertarnos y programarlo en nuestras agendas tan ocupadas. El quebranto usualmente viene cuando Dios, a través de otras personas, toca las heridas profundas de nuestro tan lastimado corazón. Es cuando alguien tiene la suficiente valentía (o la inocencia) para tocar lo escondido de nuestras almas heridas. El quebranto duele ya que de repente nos enfrentamos a nuestro dolor y muchos de nosotros no queremos lidiar con eso. Muchas veces eso me enoja ya que es la forma como me puedo defender pero cuando me alejo y busco la soledad interior con Dios las enseñanzas empiezan a caer como un aguacero. Hoy uno de mis botones escondidos fue tocado y sacado a la luz. Me gustaría ignorarlo y pretender que nada paso o aún peor tratar de alejar a la persona que se atrevió a tocarlo. (Lamentablemente la segunda reacción la he hecho varias veces) ¡Si claro! soy extremadamente amigable con las personas. ¡Si claro! me encanta ayudar a los demás. ¡Por supuesto! me puedo sentar a escuchar sus historias. ¡Que ni se diga! me encanta el poder ayudar a otros a que encuentres su propio camino espiritual. ¡Por supuesto te enseñare quien soy realmente!, bueno solo lo que quiero mostrarte, porque todavía hay áreas que nunca quisiera mostrare. Muchas de estas cosas las he tratado de superar pero son tan difíciles de manejar que mejor las pongo en el closet de áreas sin resolver. En esta jornada la cual yo llamo vida, vendrán gentes que crucen la pared que por tantos años hemos construido, allí es cuando la luz es revelada y lo escondido es puesto a la luz de nuestra existencia. Allí es cuando me doy cuenta que todavía hay mucha oscuridad en mi. Hay una vieja historia que me leí:

El rabino les pregunto a sus estudiantes, ¿Cuándo saben en que momento es el amanecer, cuando la noche termina y el día empieza?
Uno de los estudiantes del rabino sugirió: ‘¿Será acaso cuando a la distancia uno puede ver la diferencia entre un perro y una oveja?
‘No’ dijo el Rabino.
‘¿Será acaso cuando uno pueda distinguir entre la higuera y la vid? preguntó otro estudiante.
‘No’ dijo el rabino.
‘Dinos por favor cual es la respuesta’ contestaron los estudiantes.
‘Es cuando uno puede ver el rostro de otro ser humano y que entonces haya suficiente luz para reconocer a su hermano o hermana. Mientras uno no pueda hacer eso sigue siendo la noche, y la oscuridad sigue en nosotros”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

