Sovereignty-Soberanía


The Sovereignty of the ocean is magnificent, just to stand in front of the vast sea watching the sunrise is another God given gift. Paula and I have been enjoying a good time together at Saint Augustine thanks to the generosity of some friends who let us use their beach house. Morning walks at the beach, listening to waves crashing on the sand, the sound of seagulls, the little tiny birds running like they were chasing the waves, and just the feeling of sand through my feet, let me tell you! Amazing!!
But as beautiful as it is, I also realized that I do not know a lot about the ocean and everything that is happening in it. It could easily be overwhelmed trying to understand  what I am looking at, as Marcus Tullius Cicero used to say,“I am not ashamed to confess that I am ignorant of what I do not know”. While enjoying this time I also realized that as Cicero I have so much to learn about immigrants in this country (not only Spanish speaking people)listening to their voices, stories, concerns and simply get in touch to their realities (that surely are not mine). Enough of blaming the “church” from what  they have not done (me included) I need to start seeing beyond what I have in front of my eyes; Hellen Keller said, “The greatest handicap is to have sight and no vision” I need to start watching the sunrise in the life of my neighbors, and even in my own life.

La soberanía del mar es magnífica, simplemente el estar parado observando la grandeza del oceano es otro de los dones dados por Dios. Paula y yo estamos disfrutando unos dias en San Agustine gracias a la generosidad de unos amigos que nos prestaron su casa en la playa. Caminatas matutinas en la playa, escuchar el romper de las olas en la arena, el cantar de las gaviotas y los pequeños pajaritos corriendo como si estuvieran persiguiendo las olas o simplemente el sentir la arena en mis pies; les puedo decir que es ¡increible!

Pero así como es hermoso, también me doy cuenta que no se mucho de lo que pasa en él. Sería demasiado tratar de entender lo que estoy observando, como diría Marco Tulio Cicero: “No me avergüenzo de confesar que soy ignorante de lo que no tengo conocimiento”. Mientras disfruto éste tiempo me doy cuenta que tengo que aprender mas acerca de los immigrantes en este país (no solo de los que hablan español), escuchar sus voces, sus historias, sus preocupaciones y simplemente poder tocar un poco de sus realidades (que seguramente no son las mias).

¡Basta ya! de culpar a “la Iglesia” por lo que no ha hecho (Que me incluyo a mi) tengo que empezar a ver mas alla de mis ojos; Hellen Keller dijo, “La descapacidad mas grande es tener vista pero no visión”. Necesito empezar a ver el amanecer en la vida de mis vecinos…….y porque no, aún también en mi vida.

“If we take the risk of personally touching and being touched by
a suffering person, the miracle of sight can break
into our own darkness”

“Si nos arriesgamos a tocar y ser tocados
por una persona que sufre, el milagro de la vista
será posible en nuestra propia oscuridad”

Robert D. Lupton

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

