A New Call-Un Llamado Nuevo


I do not really remember when I wrote about the “Christ of my roots” and how I  re-discovered the Christ of my childhood, the one I learned in the Catholic School while living in Mexico; and how that same Christ changed through out my life in the protestant church. I have also said that the Latin-American protestantism stole my culture and the beauty to be a Latino and enjoy our music, art, and interaction to different people. Herny Nouwen said a very strong statement about his re-discovering of Christ, “The Jesus that I had come to know in my youth had died”, and it has also happened to me, because the Jesus I know now it is not even close to the one I used to know in my early protestantism years. Don’t take me wrong it is not that Jesus changed, because He hasn’t. God was, is and will be, but my perception and understanding of Him has changed and is still changing. Because of this I know I can be with HIM and still relate with other people different than me. Last night I enjoyed a great evening with a group of college students and good friends and for tonight I am ready to dance some salsa. This new relationship with Christ “is calling me to be a witness to God in a way that I never could have been before”(H.N.) Yesterday, a friend reminded me the definition of insanity: “doing something over and over while expecting something different to happen ” If Christ is in me and I am a living soul, change needs to be part of me. If change doesn’t occurred in all my areas: soul, body and spirit, but I still expect to have the same results, then I am not really letting Him move in me. What a waste of time that would be!!

No recuerdo muy bien cuando es que escribí acerca del “Cristo de mis raices” y como redescubrí el Cristo de mi infancia aquél que conocí cuando niño en la escuela Católica la cual asistía cuando vivía en Mexico; y de la forma que ese Cristo cambio cuando llegue al protestantismo. También he compartido que el protestantismo Latinoamericano me robo mi cultura y la alegría de ser Latino disfrutando la músca, el arte y el poder interactuar con diferentes personas. Henry Nouwen comparte algo muy fuerte cuando él descubrió su re-descubrimiento : “El Jesús que yo conocí en mi juventud ha muerto”. Y eso mismo me paso a mi, ya que el Cristo que conocí en mis primeros años de protestantismo no se parece en nada al Cristo que conozco ahora. Y no me lo tomen a mal, no es que Cristo haya cambiado porque eso no paso, ya que Dios es el mismo hoy, ayer y siempre; lo que ha cambiado es mi entendimiento y la manera en que percibo a Cristo, y aún sigue cambiando. Por esto mismo se que puedo estar con El, y aún asi relacionarme con gente totalmente diferente a mi. Anoche me pase una muy buena velada con un grupo de estudiantes de la universidad y buenos amigos escuchando musica y disfrutando la compañía y para hoy en la noche ya estoy listo para bailra salsa en Los Colores del Ritmo. Esta nueva relación con Cristo “me esta llevando a ser un testigo de Dios de una manera la cual nunca hubiera imaginado que haría”(H.N.) Ayer un amigo me recordo la definición de insanidad: “hacer algo una y otra ves mientras esperamos que algo diferente pase”. Si Cristo esta en mi y soy una alma viva, el cambio tiene que ser parte de mi. Si no hay cambios en todas mis areas: alma, cuerpo y espíritu pero aún asi espero tener el mismo resultado, entonces quiere decir que puede que no este dejando que el Espíritu se mueva en mi. ¡Que desperdicio de vida!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

