Growing Pain-Dolor Creciente


When I spend more time with my Lord, there are many thoughts and feelings that appear into this very hectic mind. Spending time with God it means not only enjoying His presence in a very contemplative way, but also to open the window of the understanding of my own heart. This morning while a torrential raining storm was pounding the small community where I live and seated in my car waiting for the rain to be done so I can go to my Philosophy class; a group of questions came to me like a waterfall and without warning: “who am I?, where I have come from? where am I going? where do I belong and how can I be of service?” There were so intense that I have to shot down the thoughts and pretend nothing has happened, but even though I really tried to keep those questions away from my thoughts, they were already messing up every closet inside of me. Asking myself these questions create a lot of anxiety because most of the time I don’t really know the answers. But even though is scary to bring them into my thinking, they are part of me already. Then when I arrive to have coffee at the local coffee shop and start reading my favorite this is what I read, “Spiritual direction affirms the basic quest for meaning. It calls for the creation of space in which the validity of the questions does not depend on the availability of answers but on the question’s capacity to open us to new perspectives and horizons. We must allow the daily experiences of life–joy, loneliness, fear, anxiety, insecurity, doubt, ignorance, the need of affection, support, understanding, and the long cry for love–to be recognize as an essential part of the spiritual quest”. Then I realized is ok to have questions even though I don’t have the answers, because I believe all these questions will re-direct my life, knowing that the “ultimate source of spiritual guidance, comfort and knowing comes from God”….but as always when we start asking questions we need to face our humanity and brokenness…and that my friends is a growing pain, an “essential part of the spiritual quest(all Italics are fragments of the Book Spiritual Directions by Henry Nouwen)

Cuando paso mas tiempo con mi Señor hay muchas  pensamientos y sentimientos que aparecen en esta tan complicada mente. Pasar tiempo con Dios no solo significa tomar un tiempo y disfrutar de una manera contemplativa su presencia, sino tambien el abrir la ventana del entendimiento de mi propio corazón. Esta mañana mientras una lluviar torrencial azotaba la pequeña comunidad en la cual vivo, y mientras esperaba que suavizara para poder ir a mi clase de Filosofía; un grupo de preguntas aparecieron como cascadas y sin ningun aviso: ¿Quién soy?, ¿De donde vengo?, ¿Hacia donde voy?,¿Dónde pertenezco? y ¿Hacia dónde me dirijo?. Fuerón tan intensas que tuve que cerrar mi pensamiento y pretender que no había pasado nada, pero a pesar de que trate con todas mis fuerzas de acallar esos pensamientos ya habían entrado a desordenar todos los closets de mi mente. Preguntarme esto muchas veces me trae mucha ansiendad ya que la mayoría de las veces no tengo las respuestas. Pero aunque es dificil recordarlas, son parte de mi y ya no puedo hacer nada. Después cuando llego a tomarme un café y abro las páginas de mi autor favorito esto es lo que leo: “la dirección espiritual afirma la conquista básica del significado. Crea un espacio en donde la validez de la preguntas no depende en la disponibilidad de las respuestas sino en la capacidad de las preguntas de abrirnos a nuevas perspectivas y horizontes. Tenemos que dejar que las experiencias diarias de la vida–la alegría, la soledad, el miedo, la ansiedad, la inseguridad, la duda, la ignorancia, la necesidad de afecto, de apoyo, de entendimiento y nuestra gran necesidad de amor–sean reconocidas como parte esencial de nuestra aventura.” Entonces me doy cuenta que esta bien hacerme estas preguntas aunque no tengas la respuestas porque entonces creo que estas preguntas me guiarán a hacer cambios de dirección en mi vida sabiendo que “el primer recurso de guianza espiritual, consuelo y sabiduría vienen del Espíritu de Dios”…pero como siempre al preguntarnos nos enfrentamos a nuestra humanidad y quebranto…y esos mis queridos lectores es un dolor creciente, “una parte esencial de la aventura espiritual”. (todas las Italicas son fragmentos del libro Dirección Espiritual de Henry Nouwen)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

