Third Simple Rule-Tercer Regla Sencilla


I am done with the little book of Rueben P. Job about the “three simple rules”-A Wesleyan Way of Living, and honestly I agree with the author that without this last rule it will be extremely hard to develop and practice the last two because in order to not harm and do good I need to stay in love with God. Then I realized that in order to stay in love I need to decide to love, to keep moving even if the relationship seem hallow, even if difficulties saturate my life, even if images of my past come to hunt me, even if He seems distant and silent. I need to keep moving forward to love Him. I need to “stay connected, in touch and in love with my trusted Abba” (Rouben). But there is a danger in all these and this is how I feel now. Yes! I want to stay in love of God but “spiritual disciplines not only include practices that bind us to God every day but they also include actions that heal the pain, injustice, and inequality of our world” (Rouben). I can not keep pretending I don’t care about injustices, inequality and pain. I can not keep ignoring the many voices of this world who are suffering. I cannot stay in love with Abba without staying in love with Abba’s people. I would like this to be my heart’s prayer: “Father as much as I love you help me to love those who are in pain, who are going into injustices and those who are rejected, help me to love my own”. Then  this is when words must become  flesh, “The word is always a word for others”(Nouwen). It can not be just a word for myself if I live in this world.

Ya termine el librito de Rueben P. Job acerca de las tres reglas sencillas-la manera de vivir de Wesley y estoy en acuerdo con lo que dice el autor que sin la última regla no puedo vivir las dos anteriores, ya que para que no pueda dañar y hacer el bien tengo que mantenerme enamorado de Dios. Y después me doy cuenta que para que pueda mantenerme enamorado tengo que decidir amar, de seguir moviendome hacia adelante aunque la relación se sienta hueca, aun si las dificultades saturan mi vida, aún si imagenes de mi pasado llegan cazandome, aún cuando yo lo sienta ausente y en silencio. Necesito seguir moviendome hacia amarlo. Necesito “permancer conectado, en contacto, y enamorado de mi confiable Abba” (Rouben). Pero veo un peligro en todo esto y es como me siento ahora. ¡Así es! quiero permanecer enamorado de él, pero “las disciplinas espirituales no solo nos mantienen unidos a Dios todos los dias, también incluyen acciones que sanan el dolor, las injusticias y la iniquidades del mundo.”(Rueben). No puedo seguir pretendiendo que no me importan el dolor, las injusticias e iniquidades de mi alredor, de mi mundo. No puedo seguir ignorando las muchas voces de este sufriente mundo. No puedo seguir manteniéndome enamorado de Abba sin enamorarme de la gente de Abba. Quiciera que esta fuera mi oración del corazón: “de la misma manera que te amo ayudame a amar a aquellos que estan en dolor, que estan pasando injusticias, y que han sido rechazadas, ayudame a amar a los mios” Aqui es cuando las palabras se hacen carne, “La palabra es siempre una palabra para los demás” (Nouwen) No puede ser solamente una palabra para mi si es que vivo en este mundo.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

