Imprisonment-Encarcelado


“Isaiah Berlin, the philosopher and historian once said, ‘The fundamental sense of freedom is freedom from the chains, from imprisonment, from enslavement by others’. Imprisonment not only happens inside of a jail cell, but is more often found in the soul of a man or a woman. The imprisonment of the soul is even more difficult to detect, because we are not willing to see ourselves as the cause of our chains. When a soul prisoner is enslaved he or she cannot see beyond the walls of his or her own jail, and for the most part everybody else seems to be the projection of their own anger and frustrations.”(taken from the last English essay I wrote)  I know I am a prisoner of my emotions, feelings, weaknesses, resentments and flaws, and sometimes inside of this, my own cell, it is impossible to see what is beyond the walls of my incarceration. Only when I am able to observe myself and contemplate my life in the arms of God, is when the brightness of the sun can knock at the iron door of my imprisonment heart. What is keeping you incarcerated to your soul?

“Isaiah Berlin, el filosofo e historiados, una ves dijo, ‘ la sensacion fundamental de la libertad es la libertad de las cadenas, de estar en prision y esclavitud de los demás’. Estar encarcelado no solo pasa dentro de una celda de la prision, pero se ve mas en el alma del hombre y la mujer. El encarcelamiento del alma es aun mas dificil de detectar ya que no estamos dispuestos a vernos a nosotros mismos como la causa de nuestras cadenas. Cuando un prisionero del alma es esclavizado ella o él no pueden ver mas alla de la paredes de su propia prisión, y casi por la mayor parte del tiempo todos los demás parecen ser la proyeccion  de sus propios enojos y frustraciones”(tomado del mi ultimo ensayo de mi clase de inglés). Yo se que soy prisionero de mis emociones, sentimientos, debilidades, resentimientos, y fallas y muchas veces, dentro de mi propia celda, es muy dificil ver mas alla de las paredes de mi encarcelamiento. Solo cuando estoy dispuesto a verme a mi mismo y contemplar mi vida en manos de Dios, entonces es cuando el brillo del sol puede tocar a la puerta metálica de mi encarcelado corazón. ¿Que te mantiene encarcelado a tu alma?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

