Realness


“Living out of the false self crates a compulsive desire to present a perfect image to the public so that everybody will admire us and nobody will know us” B. Manning

One of the hardest thing to do as a “Christian” is to be real. It is hard because the moment we step out into the cliff of realness the moment people will see our imperfections, and we don’t really want to show what we are made of. I need to change the concept of “realness” as a descriptive adjective of myself, but as lifestyle. But in order to be real we need to be in a safe place, not only in the communities and congregations, but within ourselves. “to feel safe is to stop living in my head and sink down into my heart and feel liked and accepted…not having to hide anymore and distract myself with books, television, movies, ice cream, shallow conversation…staying in the present moment and not escaping into the past or projecting into the future, alert and attentive to the now…feeling relax and nor nervous or jittery…no need to impress or dazzle others or draw attention to myself…Unselfconscious, a new way of being with myself, a new way of being in the world…calm, unafraid, no anxiety about what’s going to happen next…loved and valued..just being together as an end itself” (The Rabbi’s Heart, pg 16) is your community a safe place to be real? are you ready to be real?….I know I want to, but I am still lacking a lot

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

