A Beutiful Prayer


“May all your expectations be frustrated, may all your plans be thwarted, may all your desires be withered into nothingness, that you may experience the powerlessness and poverty of a child and sing and dance in the love of God who is the Father, Son and Spirit.” Brennan Manning
And what about this other one:

Franciscan Benediction

May God bless you with discomfort at easy answers,
half truths, and superficial relationships,
so that you may live deep within your heart.

May God bless you with anger at injustice,
oppression, and exploitations of people,
so that you may work for justice, freedom, and peace.

May God bless you with tears to shed for those
who suffer from pain, rejection, starvation, and war,
so that you may reach out your hand to comfort them
and to turn their pain into joy.

And may God bless you with enough foolishness
to believe that you can make a difference in this world,
so that you can do what others claim cannot be done.

5 responses to “A Beutiful Prayer

  1. Miguel,
    This is a great prayer. At first I didn’t like it. I thought, “I make a great effort to seek God’s will. I honestly believe I am living my life according to it and really would not want all of my expectations to be frustrated.”

    The my wife, who read Manning’s book, explained to me that Brennan Manning draws a clear distinction between what we do in our sinful flesh and what we do according to the spirit of God living in us.

    In that context I love this prayer. I want God to frustrate every part of my sinful flesh desires and and live my life according to God’s will.

  2. Billy,

    Who says that following Christ is easy? I think we like to believe that we will be extremely happy, extremely comfortable and extremely blessed when we are in Christ. Brennan Manning clearly shares that he is a restore alcoholic so he recognize his messiness all the time. Of course who wants to hear this: “May all your expectations be frustrated, may all your plans be thwarted, may all your desires be withered into nothingness, that you may experience the powerlessness and poverty” nobody. But I believe that only to powerlessness we can truly depend on God. So when our plans are changed, our expectations frustrated(because are ours not God’s) and our plans don’t end the way we want them. Then we feel we are not in the will of God, but man! I think we are truly in the midst of His will, because the way to the cross is not an easy way and He asks us to follow him. Finding your brokenness in Christ is truly a gift, knowing you are shattered and also whole in Him is even a greater revelation. The context should be a life that is broken, messy, imperfect, empty, so then we can truly be whole in Him. I think that is the true context.

  3. That benediction that Brennan’s mentor prayed over him is still one of my favorite prayers of all time. I come back to that very often to pray, not only over my students, but over myself as a reminder.

  4. May we not only follow Christ, which is done with our will, which is a gift from Him, but may we be saved, which is His will, which is also a gift from Him.

Leave a Reply

