Working for the Church? Really?


How can I do “church” stuff without everybody else from Connection? Isn’t “church” when we get everybody together? so the phrase, “working for the church” is kind of weird; I think will sound better to say “working with the church”. Church is people. How can I be full of meetings and not being involved in the lives of people?yeah! as a pastor “you need to spend time preparing your teaching” but if that “sermon” doesn’t come from the middle of the people that surrounded you, if we haven’t been involved in the life of the community, if we haven’t cried with the lonely, if we don’t realized that we are human, imperfect, hurt, broken, messy, how can we be effective in doing church work? I want to learn to work with the church, i want to learn to work among people and let my office be: may be in your house, may be at the local coffee shop, may be just outside in the street. Not with a sign condemning, but with a smile. There is a Shawn McDonald song that breaks me every time I listen to it: 

Open Me

Would you open up my eyes so I can see
Would you open up my ears, so I can hear
Would you open up my mind so I can know
Would you open up my heart so I can love you more.

I want to serve you my God
I want to give you everything
I want to serve you my King

 

Lord open my eyes to see the church I serve in my every day life, not just on Sundays, or Wednesdays…..

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

