No Expectations


I have experienced a “honeymoon love” with Paula. It just seems that after almost 11 years we finally got it; an unselfish love. I used to give advices to newly weds and my number one was, “always forgive”. Well after all these years that is good to remember but the one I will say that has helped us the most in the last couple of years is, “no expectations” I stopped having expectations on Paula and Paula stopped on me. We decided to expect the most of God and that’s it! We waited diving into intimacy with Him; and suddenly when least expected, God awakened us! I read this morning Matthew 10:38-39, “If you don’t go all the way with me, through thick and thin, you don’t deserve me. If your first concern is to look after yourself, you’ll never find yourself. But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and me” I think the result of No expectations but Christ is what people called wholeness. I love Paula and I am thankful that God helped me to not quit or cave in, that in the middle of dark times, He gave me strength to believe what others seem impossible, to expect nothing in me or on her, but everything on Abba. 1 June 2006, 11 years of marriage and 8 serving together. “what a ride, Lord, what a ride”

One thought on “No Expectations

Add yours

  1. Hola Miguel.

    This comment isn’t related to the post. I just wanted to ask you a question and couldn’t find an email address on the site.

    I am the pastor of a spanish-speaking church plant in Lincoln NE. We are located in what is basically Lincoln’s inner city.

    We are starting to draw some English speaking attenders. I have a vision of us being a bi-lingual church eventually, but I am not sure how to do it logistically.

    We currently put the words to most songs in English/Spanish on the screen, although Spanish is what is sung from the stage.

    My question is about the message. Currently I teach in Spanish from the stage and give an English manuscript to anyone who needs it. But that is FAR from ideal.

    How do you, in your bilingual setting, teach in both languages?

    Again, excuse me posting this as a comment. I would truly value any input you might have.

    Thanks!

    Phil Canarsky
    felipe@pazcondios.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

