The Price of Vulnerability- El Precio de ser Vulnerable


I was called a slacker!!! yeah!!! You know to be truthful I was a little shocked when one of the students of the class I am teaching called me a “slacker” She was right!! and this is why, I just started a new class at Connection and we are using one of Brennan Manning’s books, The Wisdom of Tenderness; in this class I open a blog on line for the people to share their thoughts about what we are learning. I am encouraging a group of people in their 40’s and 50’s to use technology and share with each other in this blog. I am suppose to post daily, but because I couldn’t see people commenting to my post, I though, “well nobody is reading anything so I won’t post everyday”. Wrong!! I was wrong, because they are reading it but it has been really hard for them to post on line because they are not used to do that.

When I wake up this morning, I went to Paula and told her very excited, “they called me a slacker!” She looked at me probably thinking that I went mad, but I said, ‘you know who can tell their pastor, a slacker without being afraid to his/her reaction?’ Barbara did! and I realized that I have been encouraging others to be vulnerable, to open up. To be called a slacker it is the truth and it hurts, but it is also a good compliment! It is the price of vulnerability.

¡Me llamaron haragán!¡Si, asi como lo oyen! La mera verdad me quede anonadado cuando uno de mis estudianes en la la clase que estoy enseñando me dijo “haragán”. Ella estaba en lo correcto, y les voy a decir porque, acabo de empezar una nueva clase en Conexión y estamos usando el libro de Brennan Manning, La Sabiduria de la Ternura, en ésta clase abrí un blog en internet para que la gente compartierá sus pensamientos de lo que estamos aprendiendo. Estoy animando a un grupo de gente de entre 40 y 50 años a que usen la tecnología y que compartan con los demás a través de este blog. Se suponía que yo debía escribir un pensamiento todo los días, pero como no veía que estuvierán comentando pues me dije, “si no leen lo que escirbo pues no tiene caso que yo ponga mis pensamientos todos los dias” ¡¡NO!! estaba totalmente equivocado, ¡Si! lo estan leyendo pero simplemente se le hace dificil comentar en el internet porque no estan acostumbrados a hacerlo.

Cuando me desperte ésta mañana, fuí con Paula y bien emocionado le dije, “-¡me dijerón haragán!” Ella me miro como pensando que ya se me había safado un tornillo y me estaba volviendo loco. Pero le dije, ¿quién le puede decir haragán a su pastor sin sentir miedo por la reacción que éste tenga?, bueno pues Barbara lo hizo y me di cuenta que he estado animando a los demás a ser vulnerable y abiertos. Ser llamado haragán es la verdad y duele, pero también fué un piropo. Este es el precio de ser vulnerable

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

